American IV: The Man Comes Around (CD) ~ Johnny Cash (Artist) Cover Art

American IV: The Man Comes Around

By: Johnny Cash

List Price: $8.99
Current Price: $8.99
You Save: $0.91 (7%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $11.25 New Buy

Johnny Cash Artist Snapshot:

Johnny Cash was part rockabilly rebel, part campfire storyteller, part outlaw in black. Cash made country and rockabilly history on the Sun label in the 1950s. During the '60s, the ruggedly charismatic Cash rose to superstardom, ending the decade with both his marriage to June Carter and his own television show. In the '90s, Cash began his highly successful and acclaimed AMERICAN RECORDINGS series, reaching a new audience with an amazingly diverse set of songs, ranging from traditional tunes to alternative rock covers. With his lean, angular sound and hearty, passionate baritone, Cash forged one of the most unique styles in all of popular music, one that delved into gospel, folk, and rock, but also remained the essence of country music. Four months after his wife died, Johnny Cash passed away on September 12, 2003. And in 2005, the Oscar-nominated biopic WALK THE LINE brought Cash's music and legend to his largest audience yet.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for American IV: The Man Comes Around Album By Johnny Cash CD Universe
1   The Man Comes Around Buy  
2   Hurt Buy  
3   Give My Love To Rose Buy  
4   Bridge Over Troubled Water Buy  
5   I Hung My Head Buy  
6   First Time Ever I Saw Your Face Buy  
7   Personal Jesus Buy  
8   In My Life Buy  
9   Sam Hall Buy  
10   Danny Boy Buy  
11   Desperado Buy  
12   I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry Buy  
13   Tear Stained Letter Buy  
14   Streets Of Laredo Buy  
15   We'll Meet Again Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "American IV: The Man Comes Around" by Johnny Cash

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "American IV: The Man Comes Around" by Johnny Cash to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "American IV: The Man Comes Around"

Browse more products related to "Johnny Cash"

Album Description

UK special edition reissue of The Man In Black's brilliant 2002 album includes two bonus tracks, 'Big Iron' (previously vinyl only) & 'Hurt' (video). American Recordings. 2003.

Product Notes

On first thought, the idea of the Man in Black recording such covers as "Bridge over Troubled Water," "Danny Boy," and "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" might seem odd, even for an artist who's been able to put his personal stamp on just about everything. But American IV: The Man Comes Around, which also draws on Cash's original songs as well as those by Nine Inch Nails ("Hurt"), Sting ("I Hung My Head"), and Depeche Mode ("Personal Jesus"), may be one of the most autobiographical albums of the 70-year-old singer-songwriter's career. Nearly every tune seems chosen to afford the ailing giant of popular music a chance to reflect on his life, and look ahead to what's around the corner. From the opening track--Cash's own "The Man Comes Around," filled with frightening images of Armageddon--the album, produced by Rick Rubin, advances a quiet power and pathos, built around spare arrangements and unflinching honesty in performance and subject. In 15 songs, Cash moves through dark, haunted meditations on death and destruction, poignant farewells, testaments to everlasting love, and hopeful salutes to redemption. He sounds as if he means every word, his baritone-bass, frequently frayed and ravaged, taking on a weary beauty. By the time he gets to the Beatles' "In My Life," you'll very nearly cry. Go ahead. He sounds as if he's about to, too. Unforgettable. --Alanna Nash

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with