Book of Air: Fieldtone

SKU: 29117093
Book of Air: Fieldtone

Book of Air: Fieldtone

SKU: 29117093

Format: VINYL LP

Regular price $28.98
Taxes calculated at checkout

On average, all available items are processed and dispatched within 1 business day, although this is not guaranteed.

Please note, Tower Records Merchandise and Exclusives are dispatched separately. On average, these items take 2-3 business days to dispatch, although this is not guaranteed.

The estimated shipping times that are displayed at checkout are from the point of dispatch. 

See our shipping policy for more information.

We have a 30-day return policy, which means you have 30 days after receiving your item(s) to make a return.

To be eligible for a return of an unwanted item, your item must be in the same condition that you received it and in its original packaging.

In the unfortunate situation that a product is damaged/faulty/incorrect, let us know and we will endeavor to correct any issue as soon as possible.

Please see our refund policy for more information.

Title: Fieldtone
Artist: Book of Air
Label: Sub Rosa
Product Type: VINYL LP
UPC: 5411867334125
Genre: Experimental (Noise)

The sounds found in nature can have a very slow groove. A groove embedded by silence, so slow it can almost only be felt while spending a few hours at sea, on a forest trip, in open fields... It is this groove and the "silence" of nature that inspired the Fieldtone compositions. The music is performed by an ensemble of string instruments (kanklės, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, double bass) supplemented with drums. Book of Air's series of bundled compositions exploring the parameters of sound and time begins with Fieldtone. The title refers to "roomtone," which is the "silence" recorded at a location or space when no music is played or dialogue spoken. Every room is different, and these recordings always carry their unique character. The compositions of Fieldtone are inspired by the tempo and sonic textures of specific natural locations. By embedding this silent slowness of sound found in nature into the compositions, the details of the sounds played become much more prominent. In this way the silence itself amplifies the sounds that are played, and will also amplify the room surrounding the listener. Stijn Cools: drums and compositions; Indre Jurgeleviciuté: kanklės; Benjamin Sauzereau: electric guitar; Bert Cools: electric and acoustic guitars; Nathan Wouters: double bass.

1.1 A1. Shen Show Tyray (18:40)
1.2 B1. Shille Gwer Canne (16:41)
1.3 C1. Phioberes (16:13)
1.4 D1. O Ram Ren Chiba (19:41)
Recently viewed