TV on the Radio: Young Liars

TV on the Radio: Young Liars
Title: Young Liars
Label: Touch & Go Records

2003 5 track major indie label debut EP. The Brooklyn-based group TV on the Radio mixes post-punk, electronic, and other atmospheric elements in such a creative way that it only makes sense that it's core duo, vocalist Tunde Adebimpe & multi-instrumentalist/producer David Andrew Sitek, are both visual artists as well as musicians. Adebimpe is a graduate of NYU's film school and specializes in stop-motion animation, which his Brothers Quay-like video for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs single "Pin" demonstrates amply. He is also a painter, as is Sitek, who also produced the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Machine EP and their full-length Fever to Tell. Songs about patience, guidance, realizing full well that you do have a soul, and the hopeful horror of that soul being forced out of your body into something, anything, new. Songs about lost loves reincarnated with everything but the memory of you, beautiful eulogies for a dead century. Not so funny songs for a not so funny world but danceable, hummable, swayable, able. Able. Able. "TV on the Radio devotes a level of attention to complex vocal layering that is rarely seen in American bands at all, much less ones from hipster Brooklyn... Musician/Producer David Andrew Sitek provides the perfect complement, giving each of Adebimpe's excursions a backdrop of surprisingly organic programming. " - CMJ.

1.1 Satellite
1.2 Staring at the Sun
1.3 Blind
1.4 Young Liars
1.5 Bonus Track

TV on the Radio: Young Liars

Regular price Sale price $9.18 $9.98
Taxes and Shipping calculated at checkout.

Recently viewed